The End?

(This is a writing that may prove to be uncomfortable to read, but sometimes inspiration isn’t pleasant.  I wrote this a few years ago, during a dark moment in time.  I should say, it wrote itself, because it took only a moment from start to finish)

Sometimes

Sweet wine

Sings a tune

So divine

~

Forget what beats

Within your chest

Forget your life

Contemplate death

~

Smile in consideration

What some find grim

Stand on the riverbank

Know you can’t swim

~

Bite your lip hard

Thoughts so wrong

Won’t be missed

When you’re long gone

~

Laughter comes now

Life you did wrong

Sleeping at the wheel

What was going on?

~

Didn’t see the truck

Before it was too late

Forced to feel alive again

Then forced to wait

~

Confusion sets in

Love? I wouldn’t know

Only know I’m falling

Into an endless black hole

~

When I cause pain

The world comes to a halt

Stinging wounds boomerang

Taste of wet salt

~

Imaginary arms

Hold me so tight

Kisses in my dreams

Make everything right

~

Placing my happiness

In care of someone else

Fatal flaw I truly know

But this I can’t help

~

Smashed hopes and dreams

Shatter to the floor

I pick up the pieces

I feel the need to score

~

Fractured bits in my hand

Sharp enough to cut

I press them to me gently

I just don’t have the guts

~

Can’t stand my reflection

I turn away in pain

Thought I knew the answers

The questions still remain

~

Just one more day

Tomorrow new hope?

I step away from the ledge

I put down the rope

~

Waves of bitter pain

Drowning in my glass

Soon I’ll have the answers

To the test I haven’t passed

~

Get it all together

Learn how to live

Feel it all, don’t hide

Remember what she did

~

Someone’s looking out for me

This I truly know

Heavy heart still beating

Not my time to go

~

Fold my hands in prayer

A rarity it’s true

When I’ve nowhere else to turn

I’m forced to turn to You

2 thoughts on “The End?

Leave a Reply

