The Battlefield

 fallensoldiers-1

Internal Battlefield

Armed with my defense; deflection

No time for reflection

Love, the enemy

My heart, prisoner of war

My soul, fallen soldier

Front line evaporated

In one fell swoop

Rocket propelled grenade

Of wrong choices made

Didn’t see it coming

I was still reloading

Preparing for battle

Not knowing

I’d already lost the war

Not knowing

I wasn’t worth fighting for

No need for tears anymore

Internally as empty as the desert

I once protected

Spent shells lie all around me

But I don’t see

As numbness overtakes

The heartache

Suddenly, new strength comes

From within

I pick myself up again

Wipe the sand from my eyes

And decide

To change my life

Leave a Reply

